Pages Navigation Menu

Washington State DWI Laws

Washington State DWI Laws

If you have the unfortunate circumstance of being arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol here are a few things that you should know about the law. In the state of Washington, for a first offense, you could get up to one year in jail, pay fees and fines that range from $865 to $5,000, and have your license suspended from 90 days up to a year. It could also adversely affect your rates for DWI Insurance Lynnwood. For second and third offenses your jail time will increase as will your fees and penalties along with the length of your suspension from driving. In many cases you will be required to have your vehicle installed with an Ignition Interlock Device to monitor your future driving.

Here are a few more facts on the books in Washington. The state has an Implied Consent Law which means you will be subject to a fine, along with a suspension of your license, if you refuse to take a sobriety test. You also have the opportunity to plea bargain to what is called a wet reckless, which means the conviction would be for reckless driving involving alcohol resulting in a reduced charge. If an arresting officer notices that you have a minor passenger in your vehicle they may take that child into emergency custody. In Washington, as in most states, the limit of blood alcohol content is 0.08 %, it is less, only 0.02%, for an operator under the age of twenty-one, and 0.04% if you are driving a commercial vehicle. Under the look back period the state can go back as far as seven years on your record when deciding what punishment to hand out, this is sometimes referred to as the washout period.

The above information is only a part of the laws concerning driving under the influence. If you have any questions regarding your circumstances you can inquire at SAV-ON Insurance Agencies Lynnwood or any licensed agent in the state for advice. The best advice, however, is to keep in mind the strict laws of our state and the ensuing punishments that you would endure if you are arrested. Visit website for more information.

SAV-ON Insurance Agencies Lynnwood

Be the first to like.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

16 + 20 =

Pin It on Pinterest

Shares